I’m trying to get to the end of the month without spending too much more money.

Whether it was lucky or not that the cold spell revealed the car needed a new battery is yet to be determined, but it was at least fortuitous that U had a promotion on (and a delivery of batteries) where 20% of the cost of the battery was credited to my loyalty card, in this case that means I now have 20€ more on my store card in addition to the 33€ that were on it beforehand.

Hurray!

This was my lunch and required very little effort on my part. There was little in the kitchen looking appealing but I managed to cobble together some onions, garlic, and carrots as a somewhat poor-show soffritto. To that I added a tin of tomatoes and then discovered some red kidney beans which looked as if they’d like being in a haphazard sauce (juice and all).

Some herbes de Provence later and lunch was served.

Of course there has been shopping in the last few days for things like butter, half-price chocolate biscuits, spaghetti, milk — that kind of thing. There was even a kilo bag of Colombian coffee beans which I decided to buy because they were half price (8,07€) and I’m out of coffee. Not the best beans ever but I’d rather they went into my face than into the bin.

The total of recent shopping comes to 25,61€, bringing the pot (still haven’t updated that!) to 116,77€. So on day 27 of the month the daily spend is still at 4,32€. Admittedly, I’m pillaging cupboards at the moment but all is good.