Baked potatoes are awesome and so this is from the “I’m not going to the shops now” school of cooking.

I really wanted to go to the market this morning but failed horribly because the weather was pants and staying in bed was a much better option. I finished the green beans and mushrooms for lunch, then used the two medium-large potatoes in the kitchen for this comfort food in the evening.

My topping of choice was a 145g tin of tuna in oil (supermarket, apparently dolphin-friendly but not explicitly fished with a line) mixed with a small, finely-chopped onion, some finely chopped parsley and a few teaspoons of mayonnaise. If I had thought about it I’d have added some capers or chopped-up cornichons but I only thought of that as I was eating.

Pierce the potatoes and bake them in the oven, which is set to “maximum on”. Turn them occasionally and when they are soft to gentle pressure from an oven-gloved hand, cut them open, scoop out or cut into the flesh and then mix in some butter and cheese. Close the potatoes and wrap them in tin foil, switch off the oven and leave the potatoes to absorb the butter.

Serve one potato when you are hungry, with a helping of the tuna mixture, and keep the other for lunch tomorrow.

