I found the remains of some broccoli in the fridge at lunchtime while rummaging for something-or-other. This is an amalgam of the results that come up if you do a search on the Interwebs for broccoli and tofu.

France has another bank holiday weekend, so I did a little shop in the afternoon to get me through to Tuesday, taking into account that a) I’ve been invited out tomorrow evening and b) I have enough bean salad left to feed an army. I had left-over chilli sin carne with fusilli for lunch yesterday, then took some of the bean salad to a friend’s in the evening which, even though two of us had hearty helpings, is still holding out for lunch tomorrow.

Here is a handy hint: if you keep coconut oil in the fridge, you will need a hammer. I’ll remember this for next time.

Apart from the tofu and sesame seeds, which I bought this afternoon, everything else was in the house needing to be used:

  • one 50g onion
  • two medium cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 15g ginger, grated
  • 150g broccoli
  • 125g tofu
  • soy sauce
  • white wine vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons sesame seeds

Start by draining and squeezing the tofu and cutting it into small cubes. Fry it gently in the oil of your choice until it is golden; I used coconut oil, but only really because I’m obsessed with it at the moment.

Meanwhile, break the broccoli into small florets that’ll cook quickly. Cut the onion lengthwise to make thin crescents. Grate the ginger and chop the garlic.

Pour a couple of tablespoons of soy sauce into a small bowl along with a couple of teaspoons of white wine vinegar (or something more appropriate), half the garlic and ginger, and two teaspoons of sesame seeds. Stir. When the tofu is cooked, remove it from the pan and put it into the bowl. Stir again to coat the tofu.

Add more oil to the pan, if necessary, and when it is at temperature, add the garlic and ginger. Allow to cook few a few seconds then add the broccoli florets and cook gently until they are starting to soften. Add the onion and when they start to become translucent, add the tofu and sauce mixture and stir while frying briskly.

I served this with noodles and garnished with some red chilli flakes.

Shopping since the beginning of the month is back under control, I think. So far this month, I have spent 32,98€ (11€ a day!) on food shopping, but I did have to replace a bottle of olive oil (7,99€ for a litre) and accidentally spent 6€ on a bag of mélange apéritif due to an unfortunate combination of my lack of willpower and excessive gravity in the nut silo. Yes, I am trying to justify 18€ a kilo for what is essentially nuts, sultanas and salt.

This week’s coffee beans are Guatemalan. There is an alarming lack of biscuits for a long weekend.

My Chromebook currently refuses to auto-fix images for some reason, so please forgive that this one is a little bit on the sombre side.

