My friend Chris makes this. She uses this recipe which I adapted slightly for my lunch today and tomorrow.

Yesterday, I went to Carrefour and stocked up on some jars of red kidney beans (1,57€), chick peas (1,99€) and haricot beans (1,37€). Today I nipped into the shops on my way home from work at lunch time to buy a baguette tradition and some celery.

The recipes online call for granulated sugar to make a sort of sweet and sour dressing, but I didn’t fancy that so decided to use up an apple instead for the sweetness.

  • one 230g jar red kidney beans
  • one 230g jar haricot beans beans
  • one 230g jar chick peas
  • one medium (~100g) red onion, finely chopped
  • ~200g (two large sticks) celery, finely chopped
  • one apple, finely chopped
  • lots of parsley and coriander, finely chopped

For the dressing:

  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • lemon juice
  • soy sauce

Place all the ingredients in a large bowl, dress with olive oil, balsamic vinegar and a good squeeze of lemon juice, then mix with a wooden spoon. Season to taste; I used some soy sauce in mine.

This is usually served as a side at picnics or barbecues, but I served it with the left-over rice from last night’s chilli sin carne and some crunchy baguette and it was lovely.

I have some chilli left over for tonight, so I’ll either make some extra rice to have with this tomorrow, or some quinoa.

The pot has been updated and it’s not good news, sadly. It looks as if I have managed to spend about 190€ on food this month – or about 6€ a day – which is not as good as it could be.

I shall have to be extra-careful over the the next couple of months and go back to spending cash for food and not using my card!

