When I went out in the morning to buy my bread I decided I really fancied some anchovies for lunch.

So, dutifully, I went to the organic shop where I bought some chicory and some tomatoes, then to the supermarket for a big tub of anchovies marinated in garlic and olive oil. I’d have liked to get these at the organic shop but they didn’t have any – and I’m not sure how organic fish can be anyway – so I didn’t.

In the fridge are the remains of the tricolour peppers from the other day, so I used up some of the yellow one by chopping it into little bits, and then pitted a few black olives.

  • 75g garlic-marinated anchovy fillets
  • 10g or so yellow (or any other colour) pepper
  • Two medium tomatoes
  • One small onion
  • One small clove garlic
  • Four or five chicory leaves (or any green stuff)
  • Some feta cheese, cut into cubes if necessary
  • As many black olives as you can resist eating
  • Fresh coriander

Chop the pepper and tomatoes as you see fit, and finely chop the onions and garlic. Arrange the salad leaves, onions, tomatoes and pepper on a plate. Add the feta, then put the anchovies on top. Dress the salad with oil, vinegar and lemon juice then sprinkle the chopped coriander over the top.

Serve with crusty bread and a cold beer.

A reader liked the sardine toast from yesterday, so a friend and I are planning to make their Quick Thai Curry tonight because I have most of the things we need already, and it looks divine.

