No prizes for guessing which vegetable I’m trying to use up this week!

Tonight’s meal was as inspired by my desire to satisfy my appetite as it was my desire to satisfy my inner sloth and avoid having to go the shop twice in one day, so I was happy when the Interwebs confirmed to me that other people have made risotto with red cabbage before me, with satisfactory results. I also really need to use up this red cabbage — of which a quarter now remains — before it goes a little sad.

The method, really, is the same as for the risotto I made in December, and I’m relatively certain this won’t be the last time I do something with it.

  • 150g Arborio rice
  • 100g mushrooms
  • 200g shredded red cabbage
  • One medium onion
  • One medium red onion (this was left-over from lunch)
  • One large clove of garlic, finely chopped
  • “A handful” of fresh coriander, chopped
  • White wine
  • 1/2 litre vegetable stock
  • Grated Parmesan cheese

Finely chop the onions and garlic. Shred the cabbage into medium strips, and cut the mushrooms into fine pieces.

In a frying pan, gently melt some butter, then introduce the garlic and the red onion. Fry until the onion starts to soften then add the cabbage and mushrooms and cook gently. Add some wine and season to taste, stir in some coriander and allow to cook gently.

Meanwhile, in another large pan, soften the remaining onions in butter then turn the heat to high, add the rice and stir with a wooden spoon. Make sure the rice is nicely coated with the butter. Pour in a glass of dry white wine, then have one yourself, and stir. Introduce a third of the stock and allow to come to a simmer, then reduce the heat to maintain the simmer. Season.

Stir the rice and add more stock until you have used it all, or until the rice has absorbed all it’s going to absorb, then introduce the cabbage and mushrooms along with the Parmesan and any remaining coriander.

I had this with remaining baguette from lunch and some (more) Cab├ęcou.

