With a bit of luck, spring is making itself known again in the south-west of France, which means I can eat outside again.

I know this is happening because my peach tree is in blossom and the cranes have started flying north.

Yesterday, I ventured as far as the step with a bowl of stir-fried vegetables, but as today was truly glorious I made it as far as the table outside for lunch.

The salad was really easy. On my way home from work in the morning, I nipped into the organic shop and picked up 50g of lamb’s lettuce (0,68€), an avocado (1,30€) and a baguette (1€), not entirely sure what I wanted to eat. In the end, a salad came out of the ether.

  • 50g fresh lamb’s lettuce
  • One small red onion, finely sliced
  • One hard-boiled egg
  • Some anchovies
  • Half an avocado, sliced

To make this even more tasty still, I had some Cabécou on toast.

You could make a dressing, but I just carefully poured some olive oil and balsamic vinegar over the ensemble before seasoning. Lemon juice would make a fine alternative to the vinegar, particularly with the lamb’s lettuce.

The anchovies were my second choice; the organic shop was out of mackerel fillets which are my absolute favourite thing ever to go with avocado.

Next time.

