I took advantage of a day off to have a nice lunch on the step in the sun.

A packet of noodles has been looking at me from the cupboard since I bought them a few weeks ago, so I was happy when I found myself with enough vegetables to be able to do something with them. This was quick and tasty, and was also the main reason I bought broccoli on Saturday!

  • ~250g head of broccoli, cut into florets
  • One large carrot, cut into thin slices
  • One medium red onion, cut lengthwise
  • “Some” red cabbage, shredded
  • Beansprouts
  • One medium clove garlic, cut finely chopped
  • 10-15g ginger, cut into thin strips
  • ~60g noodles

Heat some oil in a wok – I use peanut oil – over a high heat and when it is hot, add the garlic and ginger, making sure not to let them burn (too much).

Progressively add the other ingredients in reverse order of cooking time, stirring all the time. I started with the carrot strips, then the broccoli florets, onion and cabbage.

Turn the heat down so you can occupy yourself with the noodles, but remember to stir the vegetables regularly.

Add the beansprouts at the end, along with some tamari and some fresh coriander and stir to mix. I also added some freshly-chopped coriander because I have some and I like it.

