I was not inspired to cook so pragmatically used up some bits and pieces.

It turned out as a bit of an indentity-crisis variation on sag aloo which I’ve made in the past, but as I was in a bit of a hurry I made something I wanted to eat, rather than following a recipe.

  • Three large potatoes that need using up, cut into small pieces
  • 100g spinach, rinsed
  • One medium onion
  • One clove of garlic
  • One large teaspoon harissa
  • Cumin
  • Paprika
  • Turmeric
  • Tomato purée
  • Coriander

Bring some olive oil to heat in a frying pan and stir in the harissa and spices in a ratio you like (I like cumin), stirring to stop things from burning. Add the onions and garlic and fry to soften, then add the potatoes. Stir well to cover the potatoes with the oil and spices, then reduce the heat and allow to cook through.

Meanwhile, rinse the spinach. Add a squirt of tomato purée and a cupful of water to the pan, then as the potatoes are starting to soften, add the spinach to the pan and stir well. Add salt. Cover the pan and allow the spinach to wilt.

When the spinach wilts, add more seasoning, a healthy dose of finely chopped coriander, and water – if necessary – then stir, cover and allow to cook gently.

I served this with couscous and a healthy dose of harissa.

I calculated the pot, finally, which at the end of February stood at 9,28€. This means I went a little bit over the fiver-a-day, but I blame this on forgetting that February was a short month.

