I have made an another orange soup!

The local Biocoop has started selling a sweet potato and ginger soup, conveniently located next to the vegetable display, right next to the sweet potatoes, but I decided I could make my own rather than pay for something in a Tetra Pak.

The Interwebs contains a lot of recipes for sweet potato and ginger soup, so this is a bit of an amalgamation of them which allowed me to use up a couple of things. I made something similar before Christmas.

  • 245g sweet potato
  • 170g potato
  • 125g carrot
  • 125g onion
  • 20g ginger (about a tablespoon)
  • One medium clove of garlic
  • Cumin
  • Chilli powder
  • Half litre vegetable stock

Peel the vegetables and chop into cubes, the size depending on whether you want your soup chunky, veloutée or, well, quickly.

Finely chop the garlic and then cut the ginger into thin strips (julienne them, if you will) and fry gently in a healthy amount of olive oil with the cumin. Add the onions and fry them gently until they start to soften, then add the remaining vegetables.

Add a cupful of water, and allow the vegetables an opportunity to sweat a little before pouring in the vegetable stock. Season to taste, then cover and allow cook gently until the vegetables are easy to crush with the back of a wooden spoon or will pass easily through a blender or food mill.

Finely-chopped coriander or parsley can be added towards the end of preparation, and when serving.

I was worried during cooking that there might be too much ginger in the recipe but in the end it didn’t seem too invasive. I approached the other spices a little gingerly and seemed to get the balance right, but it depends how much of a cumin or chilli fan you are. There was probably about half a teaspoon of cumin and less than that of chilli powder; enough to add some warmth. I could’ve used coconut oil instead of olive oil, but forgot that I have some at the time of cooking.

It’s slightly difficult to give an exact pot figure for December and January as I spent the last week of December with my parents (so didn’t spend a penny!) and had a friend staying for the first week of January, with whom I split the shopping. So I simply stopped at the end of December with a 65-ish€ “credit” which was more or less written off by the amount of sparkle-fizz consumed in the first week of January 2017.

After doing my sums, the pot for February so far stands at 64,58€.

