I am still trying to shift a cold so I can go to work tomorrow and not breathe disease over a room of students, so tonight’s tea required loads of garlic and some chilli. It could’ve had more of both, I think, but as I can’t taste anything I can’t really tell.

There are plenty of aubergine recipes on the interwebs so I saved one of the two aubergines I bought this morning for later for when I am feeling more inspired. Had I had a jar of chick peas I’d have used those instead of mushrooms.

  • Four or five large cloves of garlic
  • One red onion
  • One large aubergine (around 300g)
  • 100g mushrooms
  • Cumin
  • Paprika
  • Turmeric
  • Ground coriander
  • Chilli powder
  • Two bird’s eye chillis (dried)
  • Tomato purée
  • Finely chopped parsley (because you have no coriander)

I didn’t measure my spices but there were roughly equal amounts of everything but the chilli, which I was quite generous with.

Start by heating more olive oil than you think you’ll need in a large pan and adding the spices. Give it a stir then add the garlic and onions, chopped to your liking, and fry them gently with the spices. Meanwhile, cut the aubergine three times lengthwise, then cut across the plant to get cubes.

Fry the aubergine into submission, adding more olive oil as necessary. The oil will come back out of the aubergine eventually but it is quite alarming to see how much it is capable of absorbing. When the aubergine is nicely coated with oil and spices and starting to repent, add the mushrooms and a few squirts of tomato purée, then stir and add a couple of dried chillis. Reduce the heat and cover.

When you are ready to serve, garnish with parsley and serve with rice. I forgot to add crème fraîche to this but that could’ve been nice stirred in or as a side.

