Christmas is coming so I’m using up things that are hanging around the kitchen before I go away for the week.

Today I decided to use up some potatoes and bought some fresh spinach to make this, but it turned out to be more aloo sag than the other way round; more spinach required next time.

The recipe and method is based on the cauliflower and ginger dish, so is probably far from authentic, though I did check the interwebs first to make sure I was at least going the right way.

  • 250g small waxy red potatoes
  • 100g loose spinach
  • One red onion, chopped
  • Two large cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • A teaspoon of finely-chopped fresh ginger
  • Cumin
  • Turmeric
  • Paprika
  • Chilli powder
  • Tomato purée

Heat the oil in a large frying pan, then add the spices to your liking. Stir into the oil, then add and fry the onion, garlic and ginger gently, stirring as necessary.

Cut the potatoes lengthwise then chop each potato three times, making six large chunks from each potato. Add the potatoes and fry them quite hot for a minute or two, trying not to burn everything, then add a teaspoon of tomato purée, some pepper, and then cover the pan and reduce the heat.

Pick out any horrible bits of the spinach, and remove the stems if you’re feeling virtuous, then wash it in a colander but do not drain it. When the potatoes are starting to soften, add the spinach and some salt then cover the pan to allow the spinach to wilt. Add a little water if necessary to help cook the potatoes and make a little sauce.

When everything is cooked, serve with rice or a flatbread.

None of the recipes on the Internet included coriander, but I added a little ground coriander to the frying stage and then used some parsley as garnish. I also cheated and used chilli powder because I was in a hurry and don’t have any fresh. I feel I could’ve double up on the spinach, but I really like spinach.

Also, this is how I made it. I think next time I might try letting the potatoes cook a little in the oil before adding the garlic, onion and spices.

Pot at 68,37€, if I have managed to count everything properly.

