At the end of November I bought some sweet potatoes from the organic shop thinking “they look nice”, only to put them in the basket and forgot about them. They seem to last forever without being used up but today I decided to do something with them – and use up some carrots while I was at it.

A quick google for recipes led me to this recipe, which I mostly followed. I made this so that I have something to take with me for lunch at work on Tuesday as I have left-over risotto for tomorrow evening when I get back from work and am being cooked for tonight.

The original recipe calls for roasting of the main ingredients but I didn’t have time for that. On the same site I also found some recipes for spicy variations of the same ingredients, but don’t have any crème fraîche so can’t go too spicy, even though I like things with a bit of a warming kick. In the end I probably used less than half a teaspoon of cumin and chilli powder — just enough for a bit of a extra warming.

  • One large sweet potato, around 500g
  • 100g of carrots that need using
  • 200g potatoes
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 2 large cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 750ml vegetable stock
  • Ground cumin
  • Chilli powder

Chop the onions and garlic. Heat some oil in a large pan and, when it is hot enough to make a piece of onion start sizzling, add and gently fry the cumin and chilli powder for a few moments before adding the onions and garlic. Fry them gently, stirring as necessary.

Meanwhile, peel and chop the potatoes and carrots. When the onions are nicely softened, reduce the heat and add the potatoes and carrots to the pan and stir. Add salt and pepper, add the stock and then cover and bring the pan back up to heat and leave it to simmer. Stir occasionally until the vegetables are soft and can be crushed easily with a wooden spoon.

When you are ready to serve, give it a burst with a hand blender to make a velouté. Had I had some crème fraîche, or even normal cream for that matter, I would have served it with some.

The morning boulangerie dash cost 1,05€ for bread and 1,10€ for a pain aux raisins for a very late breakfast which also featured a boiled egg. I took a bottle of organic Crémant d’Alsace with me to dinner in the evening, so the pot is now at 98,04€.

