I have never made a risotto before, so was quite excited when this turned out to be palatable! I have seen a friend make it — and I have enjoyed eating it — so decided it was my turn but know that as it was my first attempt at making a risotto, it will never be as nice again.

Exact measurements are not really my thing for recipes, but I made an effort this time and even wrote it all down. As I am lazy, I used the kettle and stock cube method for my vegetable stock. There are some non-organic ingredients in this, the rice and the fish, but only because they were on special offer.

  • 150g (not organic) Arborio rice
  • 50g leek
  • 100g mushrooms
  • One medium (~90g) onion
  • 50g (not organic) smoked salmon bits that were 30% off in the supermarket
  • Two tablespoons of peas (from a jar)
  • As much white wine as you dare part with
  • 1/2l vegetable stock
  • 20g grated Parmesan (all that was left in the fridge!)

Start by finely slicing the leek and mushrooms and frying them very gently in butter. While they are softening, chop the onion finely and soften it in a large pan with as much butter as you think a 90g onion will need, plus a bit more.

Cut the salmon into cubes, or whatever is easiest; I had thick slices which went into small cubes quite easily. Add a half glass (or thereabouts) of wine to the mushrooms and leeks and stir in the salmon, then add pepper. Allow this to simmer gently until the liquid has boiled off, then add the peas and stir.

Meanwhile, when the onion is softened and translucent in the other pan, turn up the heat, add the rice and stir, making sure to coat the rice with butter as evenly as possible. Pour in a glass of wine and stir, then about about a third of the stock. Add a little salt.

As the stock starts to come back towards the boil, reduce the heat and let it simmer, stirring from time to time. Add more stock as necessary, stirring gently, until all the liquid is absorbed. For 150g rice, I used all of my stock.

When the rice is ready, introduce the leek, mushroom and salmon to the rice and stir/fold it in gently, along with the Parmesan cheese, then serve. Sprinkle more cheese over the top and serve with some lamb’s lettuce, lots of pepper, and some nice bread.

There was a minor shopping detour in the afternoon where I stocked up with some more bits and pieces, including coffee (shocker), mushrooms, some leeks and red onions, biscuits, milk and a dinky 25cl bottle of wine, which was the motivation for this first risotto attempt.

Pot now at 107,21€ after shopping which included pointless things like biscuits, but needed things like milk and butter. I think the 25cl bottle of wine (2,50€) was perhaps a little excessive but it was nice and made me make this, so is entirely justifiable.

