I have a day off and so have decided to make some lunch for tomorrow as I’ll be at work all day, and I like to take something with me so I can eat with my colleagues.

This soup was easy because it’s essentially the same soup I made the other day, except that I used red onions to make it look pretty — and didn’t use leeks. There is still a tiny bit of mint clinging on for dear life outside, so I thought I’d try and use some more of it before it gets killed off by the winter.

  • Three medium red onions, chopped
  • Two large cloves of garlic, chopped
  • Three medium potatoes
  • 250g split peas
  • Chilli powder or flakes
  • Mint
  • Parsley
  • 1 litre vegetable stock

Fry the onions and garlic in some oil. Cut the potatoes into small pieces of varying sizes and add them to the pan with a cup of water; the thinner slices will help thicken the soup. Simmer gently until the potatoes start to soften.

Add the peas, then add the vegetable (or other) stock and bring to a simmer. Add some chilli powder and seasoning, the cover and leave on a low heat for as long as it takes for the peas to break down. Once the peas have started to soften and fall apart, add salt to taste then crumble in a little dried cep. Leave covered over a low heat.

Serve with a teaspoon of crème fraîche, a sprinkling of chilli flakes and some fresh mint and parsley.

This is even nicer with bacon bits (lardons), but I don’t have any.

I had an omelette with some lamb’s lettuce for lunch, but will probably start on this tonight.

Pot at 19,85€ after some shopping yesterday for Corsican clementines, eggs and (more) coffee (still on the Guatemalan).

