I think we’re safely into soup territory now as the fire is lit and the nights are getting shorter. I made this as lunch this afternoon because I’ve been looking at the remains of the mint in the garden and thinking I really need to do something with them.

  • One medium onion, chopped
  • One clove garlic, chopped
  • One medium leek, sliced
  • 300g split peas
  • 1 litre water or stock
  • Parsley
  • Mint

In a large pan, gently soften the onion and garlic in a little olive oil, then add the leeks and allow them to soften. Add the water or stock, then bring back to a simmer and add the peas.

Bring the contents back to a simmer and skim any froth that might form on the surface, then season, cover, and leave to cook until the peas start to fall apart. I also added a little chilli powder, to my liking. When your soup is of a consistency to your liking, serve the soup with some chopped leaf parsley and mint and a nob of crème fraîche, if you have some.

The leek all but disappeared during the cooking, and I think I could’ve used more garlic, but it was nice and I have plenty left over for tomorrow.

Shopping – since the last time I checked – includes a 2,49€ pack of risotto rice, a bottle of wine for an invite out, some muesli and mushrooms, pizza, coffee – all the usual fare. This brings the pot to 57,43€, if my calculations are correct.

I won another 10€ voucher in the supermarket, so now have 40€ to spend wisely.

