When I went shopping on Saturday I bought various things intending to make a quiche yesterday to sustain me through a few days. However, my firewood was delivered so I ended up yesterday stuffing down beans on toast as a last-minute solution to hunger.

  • One medium onion, sliced
  • Two leeks, topped, tailed and sliced
  • 125g mushrooms, sliced
  • 140g loose spinach
  • Four eggs
  • One pack of lazy-person pastry
  • Grated cheese for topping (I used Gruyère)

Fry the onions and leeks in a little butter. Once they have softened, add the mushrooms and season. Rinse the spinach in a colander then add it to the frying pan once the mushrooms have started to soften. Season again, reduce the heat and simmer gently until the spinach wilts and the excess water evaporates.

Meanwhile, prepare your pastry base in a buttered baking tin, add a dessert spoon of mustard and spread it around with the back of the spoon until it covers the base. Beat four eggs in a bowl. Season them.

Pour the vegetable mixture into the pastry base and spread it evenly. Pour the eggs over the top, making sure it fills all the nooks and crannies, then sprinkle the cheese on top. Ornament with some crème fraîche in the middle, then cook in the oven until the pastry starts to brown.

Leave to stand before you serve with boiled new potatoes.

It appears I’ve gone over my budget of five euros a day, through carelessness more than anything else, I think. Recent shopping – since couscous – includes the usual things such as coffee, veg, fruit – and an excess of Rum Babas.

This week’s apples are Idared. This week’s coffee is Bolivian.

Pot is now at -13,97€ (!) which is bad because I started the month with a surplus. However, some staples ran out and I particularly blame the cost of Yorkshire Tea and Worcestershire Sauce in France.

Also, the supermarket gave me a 0,50€ reduction on Bjorg Almond Milk, which I wouldn’t normally buy but felt compelled to as it was only 2,19€. Which is a bargain, isn’t it?

