My work schedule for the next few days means that I’ll need to have lunch with me, but am not necessarily going to have much time to cook or procure it.

This improvised stew deliberately and somewhat inconveniently used most of what I bought yesterday and some small potatoes that needed using. I wanted it to last me through until Wednesday and made an excessive amount, but it really was inedible – to the point of galling – so that’s not going to happen. I’ll generally eat anything rather than throw it away, so you can imagine my disappointment when it turned out this way.

I think the bay leaves killed it and were helped in the task by the parsnip overdose. I’ll try making something like this again once I’ve thought about it a bit more.

Still. It looks nice in the photo.

  • 200g parsnips
  • 400g carrots
  • 500g small potatoes, peeled
  • 250g leeks
  • 3 branches celery, finely chopped
  • 2 large onions
  • 4 large cloves garlic
  • 100g Scotch barley
  • 2 bay leaves
  • Cumin
  • Chilli powder
  • Paprika
  • Tomato purée

Cook. Taste. Throw out. Have an omelette instead.

Pot now down to 62,75€.

