If I’m honest, this didn’t really know what it was going to be when I started cooking it.

I went shopping in the afternoon and stocked up with things for the next few days and imagined doing something with some spinach – which I will now have find another use for – and crème fraîche with the remains of the courgette and the mushrooms from the other day, along the lines of the spinach and mushroom thing from back in August. Half-way through I even considered having spaghetti with courgettes again so I could get a better photo, but went this route instead.

  • Remains of a courgette, finely sliced
  • One onion, finely chopped
  • Four small cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 70g mushrooms, chopped
  • Salt and pepper
  • Parmesan

Fry the onions and garlic in some butter and olive oil. Add the mushrooms and courgette and fry gently until they are starting to become tender. Season, add a large tablespoon of crème fraîche, stir, and simmer gently while you prepare the pasta.

Drain the pasta when cooked, then pour the sauce over it, stir, and serve with a little parmesan and seasoning to taste.

Yesterday I grabbed a sandwich for lunch and had chicken stew with a friend in the evening. I provided a test-bake Nutella galette des rois, which was given to me by a student in the pudding factory, to follow. We had it warm.

Today I did a Saturday shop and bought what I think I need to make myself a nice hearty vegetarian stew tomorrow, as well as staples such as butter (2,25€), milk (1€), honey waffles (1,86€), Cripps Pink apples (1,42€) and some Guatemalan coffee beans (3,57€).

For the stew, I bought carrots (1,54€), a parsnip to go with the other one (0,60€), celery (1,98€), 500g Scotch barley (1,50€), leeks (1,27€), mushrooms (2,61€) and spinach (1,19€). I also bought a tub of crème fraîche (1,28€) though I’m not entirely sure why.

Pot now at 63,80€ which is a little bit under what it should be.

