This comes from a book I was given for my birthday 20 years ago called The Top 100 Pasta Sauces by Diane Seed. It is, apparently, a traditional dish from southern Italy where people like to use things from their garden with little faff.

For one person:

  • 250g courgette
  • Spaghetti
  • Salt and black pepper
  • Olive oil

Slice the courgette into thin rounds, and fry them in hot oil until tender, but do not let them brown. The original recipe doesn’t call for garlic, but I like garlic, so I added a couple of cloves of garlic to the oil first. Add salt and black pepper to taste, then when the pasta is cooked, stir the courgette and oil into the spaghetti and season again if necessary.

The book informs me that the dish is not normally served with cheese, but I had some nonetheless.

Yesterday, I stocked up on peanut butter (4,15€) and a couple of jars of green beans (3,42€). Today I stopped off on my way home and bought some mushrooms (0,71€), a courgette of which I used half (1,09€), a baguette (1,05€) and restocked the coffee (2,64€). Last night I had an omelette and today’s lunch was paid for by my client.

The pot now stands at 85,87€.

