I love parsnips and have done ever since I was a child. They are a particularly fine winter vegetable when served roasted on a Sunday, slightly burned but still edible. I found some during my One Goes Mad In Organic Supermarket Saturday, and put them in my trolley immediately without really knowing what I was going to do with them.

This evening, I used one to make a soup with the 600g of carrots I bought. There is one left, so I will need to find something to do with it.

  • Two medium onions, coarsely chopped
  • Four medium cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • One large parsnip (about 150g), peeled and sliced
  • About 600g carrots, peeled and sliced
  • A few potatoes, peeled and chopped into varying sizes for thickening
  • Three or four sticks of celery, finely sliced
  • Lots of finely chopped leaf coriander
  • Cumin

Peel and slice the pointy vegetables. Fry the garlic and onions in some olive oil and add a small teaspoon of cumin. Once the onions and garlic have soften, add the vegetables and stir to coat them with the oil, then add about 75cl of water, season, and stir. Add a bit of a stock cube if you think it needs it, then allow to simmer gently for as long as is required to skim the scummy stuff from the surface and for the potatoes to thicken the broth slightly.

When the vegetables are cooked to your liking, mash them slightly with a wooden spoon or give them a quick blast with a hand blender. Add the celery and coriander, season again if necessary, then cover and leave to simmer gently while you tidy up.

I enjoyed this with crunchy bread and some cheese.

