Yesterday, when I was doing a quick shop, I picked up a lovely squash in the organic shop. I don’t remember having cooked squash before so looked in Madge’s veg bible for some ideas and then had a quick look on the interwebs, but in the end decided to make a simple soup.

Most recent shopping includes:

  • 20g (non-organic) leaf coriander (1,65€)
  • Butternut squash (3,15€)
  • Capers (3,55€)
  • Honey waffles (1,86€)
  • Petit-Beurre biscuits (1,25€)
  • Coffee (4,11€)

This morning, I was under instruction to buy cheese for a picnic lunch, and came back with:

  • a Camembert (1,42€)
  • Bleu d’Auvergne (1,73€)
  • a baguette (1,05€)

In the evening, I decided to attack the squash. I consulted a friend on the phone and concocted this. It was ready in no time at all.

  • One large butternut squash (mine was 1kg)
  • Two onions, finely chopped
  • Five or six medium cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • Teaspoon each cumin, turmeric, chilli powder
  • Lots of finely-chopped fresh coriander

Cut the squash lengthwise and discard the seed mass. Pour some olive oil over the two halves of the squash, season it and put it in a roasting dish cut face down. Roast in the oven (“on”) until the flesh is tender. Some of it may caramelise slightly, which turns out to be rather nice.

When the roasting is complete, fry the garlic and onions in some olive oil, add the spices and cook gently until the onions start to soften. Meanwhile, scoop the flesh out of the squash with a large spoon. Add this to the onions and garlic, stir, then add about 0,75l of water. Season, stir, and allow to simmer gently.

Just before it was ready to serve, I gave it a few seconds with a hand blender to make it into more of a vélouté, then stirred in a handful of fresh coriander and a tablespoon of crème fraîche.

My friend suggested that I roast the seeds as something to snack on. While things were cooking, I removed all the gunk from around them – most of them squeezed out of the orange mass – then rinsed them and put them in the roasting dish with some more oil and pepper then left them in the oven until they were starting to crisp. This coincided with the end of the soup preparation, so I sprinkled a few on for decoration and seasoning.

The squash was lovely when I took it out of the oven and I was tempted to eat it as-was with some rice, but will find another way of cooking squash and do one another time.

I had bread and Camembert to finish. There will be plenty of this for lunch at work tomorrow. Left-overs for lunch yesterday then pizza with a friend in the evening. Following the weekend’s shop, the pot is at 162,53€.

