I still have about 500g of the Savoy cabbage left, so decided to make an effort to use some of it up rather than let it go brown and attract flies. There is loads left but it’ll keep another few days.

Just before lunch-time closing, I nipped to the shops and stocked up on a few things:

  • Baguette (1,05€)
  • Penne (1,50€)
  • Bleu d’Auvergne (1,59€)
  • Grated carrot salad (out of date; 0,73€)
  • Tomatoes (0,60€)
  • Large cauliflower (2,85€)
  • Medium red pepper (1,02€)
  • Priam apples (1,10€)
  • Coffee (3,95€)
  • Tinned tomatoes (0,99€)
  • Apple/cinnamon yoghurt (2,02€)
  • Biscuits (1,25€)
  • Rosabelle potatoes (1,80€)
  • Onions (1,07€)
  • Garlic (0,26€)
  • 20g leaf coriander (1,65€)

I went a little mad, if I’m honest, because I realised that I am well within the 5€ a day.

Anyway. Lunch. I improvised this, so there were no real quantities.

  • Four or five black olives, pitted and sliced
  • Quarter of a red pepper, chopped
  • Half a medium onion, chopped
  • One clove of garlic, finely chopped
  • Two leaves from a Savoy cabbage, finely shredded
  • Some quinoa

Cook the cabbage in butter and a little water with the garlic and lots of salt and pepper until it is starting to soften. Then add the chopped pepper and onion and fry everything together to get rid of any excess water.

Meanwhile, prepare a “healthy” amount of quinoa, then stir everything together with the olives and salt and pepper in a large bowl and serve. I ate it warm, and it was really tasty with some fresh baguette and cheese.

Pot at 47,48€

