This is a favourite from the Madhur Jaffrey veggie bible, and when I saw the big juicy cauliflower in the organic shop I knew immediately what I was having for tea.

The original recipe serves four, but I cut it down because I didn’t want lots and I want to make cauliflower cheese tomorrow. Despite the smaller quantities, there was plenty and I have some left over for lunch tomorrow.

  • Vegetable oil for shallow frying
  • 200g potatoes peeled and cut into thick chips, each 5×2.5cm
  • 300g cauliflower cut into delicate florets
  • 1 tablespoon peeled and finely-chopped fresh ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 2-3 tablespoons coarsely-chopped fresh coriander

Put vegetable oil, about 1cm deep, in a large frying pan and set over medium heat. When the oil is hot, put the potatoes in and fry until they are golden and almost tender – about ten minutes. Lift the potatoes out with a slotted spoon and drain on kitchen paper.

Turn the heat to medium-high and put in the cauliflower florets. Fry for 3-4 minutes or until they are golden brown. Lift the cauliflower out with a slotted spoon and drain on kitchen paper.

Remove all but 2 tbsps of the oil (I find there’s little oil left anyway!) from the frying pan. Return the pan to medium-high heat and put in the ginger. Stir for 10 seconds. Put the potatoes and cauliflower back in the pan. Turn the heat to medium.

Add the turmeric, salt, cayenne pepper, cumin and ground coriander. Stir gently to coat the vegetables with the spices. Add 3 tbsp water. Stir once, then cover the pan. Turn the head to low and cook very gently for 4 minutes. Add fresh coriander and toss gently.

The original recipe calls for 450g potatoes and about 800g of cauliflower for four people. The cauliflower I bought was about a kilo, so I used a third of it.

Yoghurt and a mugotea for pudding.

