Tonight was the last market of the season and a friend – the same one responsible for the fish and chips relapse – encouraged me to go. I didn’t need that much encouraging, if I’m honest, as I start work again tomorrow and felt that I deserved a little treat on the last day of my holidays.

I didn’t go to as many of these as I did last year, so didn’t get to try all the fare available. I like to try everything there but wasn’t tempted by the duck – I tried someone else’s – so had lamb.

Normally from the lamb people, I have a farandole, which is a lamb chop with a merguez sausage, salad, and potatoes covered in persillade. Tonight I had the special, which was lamb shank with a chorizette, potatoes and loads of persillade. It was utterly sublime but cost me 10€ for the garlicky pleasure. Of which there was a lot.

However, as this meal out means the pot can’t afford for me to grab a sandwich at work tomorrow, I also bought a lovely little Marguerite loaf (1,10€) and a pre-prepared salad to take with me for lunch (2,50€).

The pot now stands stands at 11,40€.

