There is plenty of left-over quinoa salad in the fridge so I had some for lunch with a peach and a kiwi fruit.

In the afternoon, I shopped for some red onions (1,40€), mushrooms (1,11€), spinach (2,25€), a red pepper (why? 0,91€) and a litre of milk (1€). I decided to try the organic shop’s own-brand UHT (ick) milk because it’s from a cooperative and French milk-producers need the cash.

I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to eat tonight but I love spinach and it seems it’s in ready supply at the moment. I have a generic pasta sauces book which has a couple of spinach recipes, but the Madhur Jaffrey veggie bible has a whole section on ways to prepare spinach, so I shall probably explore those.

This made enough for me to pig myself this evening and I’ll have a little left over tomorrow, if I can control myself. It was quick and easy. I didn’t measure the penne but I now have none left.

  • One medium (100g) red onion, chopped
  • Half a small onion (found in fridge, needed using)
  • Four or five cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • Remains of the final red chilli pepper, finely chopped
  • 100g spinach, rinsed
  • 100g mushrooms, chopped coarsely
  • One large tomato, chopped
  • A squirt of tomato purée

Fry the onions and garlic in a healthy amount of oil and when they have softened, add the mushrooms. Stir, and cook over a medium heat until the mushrooms are of a consistency you are happy with. Add the chopped tomato, a squirt of purée and a splash of water. Stir, and let the tomato cook and the sauce reduce. Season.

Rinse the spinach in a colander. When the tomato is cooked, reduce if necessary then add the spinach, add more salt, and cover. Turn the heat up to high for a second or two then let the spinach wilt over a medium heat. Stir and season as necessary.

While I was waiting for this to happen, I drained the pasta and stirred in some butter and pepper.

I spent over 5€ but I don’t know, really, why I bought a red pepper. It will keep. There’s another 100g or so of spinach that I can do something with as well.

Pot now at 48,24€

