Last night, a friend took me out for a few drinks so, as I was cooking with wine-flu, I reheated some of the chilli and ate it with penne and a little bread in the evening as this required neither coordination nor imagination. The baguette did me for breakfast this morning and there’s a little left for tonight.

I noticed that a roll of organic flaky pastry (pâte feuilletée) is only 1,49€ in the supermarket and that I am too lazy to learn to make my own. In the absence of a market run this morning, I decided to use up the remaining leek and a half from last week with a few potatoes and some mushrooms.

There was a shopping trip this morning to buy:

  • Six eggs (2,25€)
  • 365g broccoli (1,74€)
  • 100g mushrooms (1,11€)
  • Pastry (1,49€)

To this I added a few things from the reserves and made the following quiche.

  • Four eggs
  • 100g mushrooms
  • remains of one and a half leeks
  • three large potatoes
  • one large red onion
  • three cloves garlic
  • one tablespoon grainy mustard
  • butter

With a mandoline, slice the potatoes. I peeled mine but don’t mind them with skins on if they haven’t been sprayed. Slice the mushrooms and chop the leeks – I did mine into little centimetre-long pieces and then pushed them through to get rings – and the onion and garlic. Fry the onions and garlic gently in a little butter, then add the potatoes and give them a head-start on the mushrooms and leeks, which can go in a little later. Season the mixture, cover, and leave to cook gently. When the potatoes are still a little firm, remove from the heat and leave to cool.

Beat four eggs in a bowl and season the mixture. Butter the baking tray and get the pastry as central as possible. Put a large tablespoon of mustard in the centre of the pastry and spread it around the base using the back of the spoon. The grainy mustard I used was slightly more difficult to spread than Dijon usually is, but I managed. Add the mixture, layering carefully or – if you are really hungry – spoon it in and pour in the beaten eggs. Make sure the egg mixture gets into all the nooks and crannies, then spoon a little crème fraîche into the centre because you forgot to mix it into the eggs.

My oven has two settings, on and off, so turn it on and cook the quiche on a high shelf until the eggs are cooked and the pastry has browned. This took about 25 minutes, and I served it with broccoli. About two-thirds of it is left, so it’ll run to tomorrow and possibly Friday.

I expect to have more chilli tonight. Following this morning’s shopping and yesterday’s baguette, the pot stands at 118,24€.

