This used up the remaining mushrooms and courgette from my last shop.

I didn’t quite get the polenta as I normally like it; making runny polenta thicker is much easier than making thick polenta runny again. This was my own stupid fault for trying to do the polenta scientifically rather than how I do it normally, which is to bring an amount of salted water to a rolling boil then slowly add and stir in enough polenta, then reduce it – while stirring – if necessary and adding butter towards the end.

Nonetheless:

  • 100g (half a) courgette
  • 50g mushrooms
  • two cloves garlic
  • half an onion finely chopped
  • small red chilli
  • small green chilli
  • two large tablespoons crème fraîche
  • 20g grated parmesan

For the sauce, slice the mushrooms thinly, cut the courgette into quarters and slice finely. Thinly slice two small chillies (one red, one green) and dispose of the seeds. I had an onion shortage, so used half a leek sliced quite finely as a stand in.

Slowly fry the garlic and onion in butter, then add the mushrooms. Add more butter if necessary, then add the chillies and courgette and cook gently. When the courgettes are ready, add the crème fraîche and half the parmesan and stir it to make a sauce.

Meanwhile, follow someone else’s instructions for perfect polenta and serve the sauce on top. Leftover polenta can also be left to set and later sliced and fried or, in my case, used to fill cracks in dams or radiators.

I bought a 20cl tub of crème fraîche (0,99€) in the afternoon. Pot now stands at 125,89€

