I resurrected the soup at lunchtime by adding some chilli powder as I brought it back up to the boil. This made it surprisingly tasty again, considering it’s done two days so far, and I was surprised to find myself scoffing down a second helping. Tomorrow I shall either finish it as soup, or make it a bit more spicy and reduce it to make a sort-of rice and dal affair.

One of the things that usually happens with jars of things and me is that I open them, use half of them, then leave them to languish in the fridge for a while. Normally, I then remember or rediscover them around the time they’ve gone mouldy, and I’m a bit fussy when it comes to mould, oddly enough. I can just about tolerate someone else removing the mould from a pot of jam and then declaring it to be “perfectly fine”, but am never certain until I’ve observed them spreading it on their toast and eating it themselves. Secretly, I throw mouldy things out. This is not good.

I remembered the jar of pesto in the fridge, so bought the courgettes and mushrooms to help finish up that half pepper left over from last night.

  • half a red pepper
  • one small onion, chopped
  • one clove garlic, finely chopped
  • approx 50g mushrooms, finely chopped
  • half a large courgette (150g)
  • three or four teaspoons of pesto

I started by frying the onions and garlic gently in shallow oil while I then cut the courgette length-ways into quarters and then into thin slices. I added the courgette to the pan and once it had had a head start, added the pepper and mushrooms. I added a couple of teaspoons of pesto and kept an eye on everything while I boiled up about 75g of penne and grated some parmesan.

Once it was on the plate I spooned the remaining pesto onto the top and had it with some of the nearly-finished radicchio. With a little more pasta this could’ve done two, but I was quite happy with lots of sauce and “enough” pasta. I finished it, then forced a yoghurt down afterwards.

The remaining courgette-and-a-half will probably figure quite prominently tomorrow.

The pot is now at 130,75€. I need milk.

