I cheated yesterday by going out in the evening as a friend was roasting a chicken and asked whether I’d like some. Which I did.

Had I not gone out, I’d probably have had this, but I had it tonight instead. I did buy some yoghurts (1,39€ for four) and a big box of Jordan’s Organic Muesli (3,20€) – I know the organic shop has muesli loose, but it’s never as nice – on the way over. We had two of the yoghurts as pudding.

For lunch today, which was really breakfast given I slept in, I had a repeat portion of soup with some more of the radicchio and crunchy bread. 

The soup looks as if it’ll go on another day or two if I remember to bring it to the boil tomorrow, but I didn’t have any this evening as the omelette was enough for me. It comes from La cuisine végétarienne – one of those little impulse-buy recipe books you find lingering in the supermarket. The original recipe – cook stuff, add eggs – is for four people, this fed me.

  • two eggs (vital, really)
  • a medium potato, sliced
  • a small onion, sliced
  • half a pepper cut into strips
  • a teaspoon of capers (mmm)
  • the black olives that make it to the frying pan (and not directly into your face)
  • a teaspoon of paprika
  • half a teaspoon of chilli powder
  • salt and pepper

Slice the vegetables to your liking. Soften about 20g of butter in a frying pan and add the paprika, chilli and potatoes. Cook them slowly until the potatoes start to go translucent then add the pepper and finally the onion. Add salt and pepper and let the ingredients cook. Meanwhile, beat your eggs, season, prepare a bit of left-over radicchio (it’s going a long way) and when the plate is ready, add the capers and olives to the frying pan. Give them a moment to sizzle, then pour in the eggs and try to cover everything as evenly as possible.

I like my omelettes quite loose, so when I was happy with the consistency – about a minute – I tried my hardest to fold it neatly, gave up, and put it on the plate and chucked the remains of a jar of (not organic) anchovies on top (because anchovies are awesome on omelette, but obviously weren’t in the original recipe).

Cheese and baguette to follow.

The pot is at 137,37€

