This turned out to be lunch by itself as I was stuffed by the time I had eaten it.

I have never (knowingly) had Radicchio before today so had no idea what to do with it when I bought it. There are various recipes in books and interwebs but in the end I went with the suggestion of the woman on the market; garlic.

  • four or five quite central radicchio leaves, shredded
  • two large cloves of garlic, very finely chopped
  • four large walnuts (from a bag of walnuts you forgot you had)

Sod “making a vinaigrette”, just put the chopped garlic in a little bowl, pour “that looks about right” of olive oil over it (cover it nicely), add a little balsamic vinegar, pepper, and stir it with a fork. Leave it to stand for a few minutes while you shred the leaf and put it on a plate. Crumble the walnuts over it, then spoon on the dressing making sure you get plenty of garlic.

Season and eat.

I was going to have this as a side to the remains of last night’s potato stew with couscous but it turned out to be plenty by itself. There was some of the oil left over, so I toasted a bit of the baguette, cut it into soldiers and soaked it all up with that.

Some cherries to finish up.

